top of page

Naturally, my house is clean

This post has information about natural cleaning with my favorite recipe for surface cleaner/disinfectant.

Let me first state that I am not a doctor or biologist. This article is meant to be informational and helpful, not to diagnose and or treat certain illnesses. With that bit of administration work, let's begin:

Turn on the TV and you'll see hundreds of commercials for disinfectant wipes, sprays, anti-bacterial this and anti-bacterial that. Do we really need all of this? Are we that dirty and germ infested? Is is beneficial to live in a sterile environment? In Germany people used to say "Dreck machts Speck" which literally translates into dirt makes Fat. No worries, fat In this case means healthy. Funny isn't it? I grew up in an extremely clean household and was sick as a child constantly. I still, to this day, struggle with allergies and I ask myself what has one to do with another? My daughter grew up in a household that was less than perfect, and unless she is exposed to chemicals like chlorine or bleach, she is fine. So I came to the conclusion: a little "dirt" aka bacteria will keep your immune system challenged, just like exercise will keep your muscles challenged. Makes sense to me.

The environment also plays a huge part in your cleaning routine and what you should use. When I live in the US, we have a septic field and well water. So I pay very close attention on what I use, because it all comes back eventually to us. If it is an ingredient that I would not mind ingesting, then it is likely OK to use. That is my rule of thumb.

Take these tips/ideas and use them if it makes sense to you. Remember it won't cure any diseases, and there is still a chance you might be allergic to some of it. So pay close attention and listen to your body! ALWAYS read ingredient labels.

Since most of the bacteria will develop in the kitchen, let's start with tips and tricks there:

Reusable dishrags. I exchange them every day and wash them in hot water before I use them again. That doesn't count for when I rinse meat I am preparing to cook. I will pat them dry with a paper towel and I discard the paper towel immediately.

Dishwasher brush: Love those nifty things for hard to clean pots and so on. I can use extra hot water for my handwashing items. Remember the hotter the water the less bacteria!

Cutting Boards: I use them in plastic and glass because the surface is not as porous as wood and they are much easier to keep clean. I also use wooden cook spoon only for pasta, rice. For everything else I use plastic or even better, metal.

Burned in messes:Pour 1/4 cup of vinegar into your pot, add a bit of hot water, let sit for an hour and then scrub with salt. It will come out super clean without any harsh chemicals.

For glass top ovens, they sell razor blades fixed in a practical handle. No chemicals needed to get your glass top clean as new.

For all surfaces I use my homemade spray. You'll learn how to make it at the end of the article.

Bathroom:

Moisture and heat are the perfect breading ground for bacteria. You should attempt to air your bathroom (weather permitting of course) and naturally if you have a window. Otherwise, let your fan go, keep the door open after showering for air exchange.

Use a shower curtain that you can wash. Soap scum builds up on your curtain and along with the moisture and heat, is a bacterial heaven. Avoid it by washing your curtain often.

For surfaces use the spray...

The toilette:

Our toilettes are probably one of the only places I will use disinfectant disposable wipes. Those wipes will collect all the "stuff" of your toilette and you can dispose of it in the trashcan. I do not like any other option for my toilet. Be sure to clean all the surfaces and also on the outside of the bowel, especially (if you have a wall mounted urinal) underneath. For the inside, I use Baking soda and give it a good scrub every other day... don't forget to rinse off the brush!!!!! Replace it as soon as you see discoloration on it. I always by white toilet brushes. It is easier to spot when I need a new one because the white ones will show discoloration easier.

In my guest bathroom I have little dishrags for towels that my guests can use just like you would use paper towels. I provide a basket to discard them in as well as a trashcan for other trash. It feels luxurious, looks good, and after you washed your little hand towels in hot water, they are ready to go again and can be used until they fall apart. No more dripping wet, nasty towels at parties.

Your laundry:

Many people make their laundry soap themselves. I have not tried that yet but as soon as I do I will write about it here.

I use a detergent that is labeled environmentally safe and..... I usually only use half of what you are supposed to be using in a full load. This brings me to the next point:

Don't overload your washer! Your clothes will not get as clean as they can be.

Separate your clothes and always wash as warm/hot as possible without damaging the fabric.

I wash darks and colorful clothes in warm water. Whites I ALWAYS wash hot. 2 Tablespoons of baking soda can effectively replace your bleach naturally.

After washing, leave the door or top to the washer open so the moisture can dry out to avoid nasty smells and funguses in your washer. Keep edges and crevices clean. For cleaning use my surface cleaner.

Bedroom:

Naturally weather permitting, you should air your bedroom every morning. Fresh air is crucial to a healthy environment. This is of course more difficult if you are living in the sweltering humid south or baking hot desert but you get the point.

Don't cover up your bed after you got out. I know we were taught to fix our beds and make it pretty but trust me, it is much healthier to fold your blankets back, fluff the pillows and let it air out. We sweat a lot during the night and that moisture has to go somewhere. So don't cover it up, let it air out.

Change/wash your sheets weekly. Again we sweat and shed microscopic skin particles during the night. To avoid having to use chemicals. just wash them in warm or even better, hot water. Don't forget to wash the top blanket or comforter every now and then too, not just the sheets.

When changing the sheets, I like to also spray my handy dandy Surface cleaner lightly on the mattress, vacuum the mattress really good, then lightly mist it again and let it dry the rest of the day before I put my squeaky clean linens back on.

Here is the recipe for my surface cleaner.

I love this stuff! It is easy to make and lasts a really long time. Don't be shocked when you first buy the natural Essential oils. They tend to be expensive when you get started but you will get so many bottles of cleaning spray out of it, that in the long run, it is very inexpensive.

Surface cleaner, hand disinfectant, bathroom cleaner, Mattress freshener, Yoga mat deodorant, Shoe deodorant and whatever else needs to be clean and fresh!

In a spray bottle for approximately 1 liter/4 cups add

1 cup of Witch Hazel

10 drops Lemongrass essential oil

10 drops Tea Tree essential oil

5 drops Peppermint essential oil

Top it off with distilled water.

Don't forget to shake the mixture good before you use it. This will ensure the oils get dispersed throughout the liquid. All the oils are known for their antibacterial properties, smell fresh and clean and are not harmful to the environment or you. Make sure you use 100% essential oils that are all natural. Do NOT use an oil that is just for scenting soaps or candles. You lose the disinfectant benefit and have no real idea what is actually in it.

Recent Posts

© 2016 Aela Badiana Productions, all rights reserved

bottom of page