top of page

Carrot Bars


This recipe was given to me at my bridal shower in 1995 so I guess you could call it vintage ;)

At first, I thought carrots, cinnamon and coconut, what the f... combination is this? Naturally my curiosity was intrigued and I decided to try it. Since then, I always make these bars around Easter time. It is moist and delicious treat. These are super fast and easy to prepare. You can also make them into a traditional round cake or as cupcakes, just simply adjust the baking time.

Here is what you need:

4 eggs

2 cups sugar (I usually use a bit less like 1 1/2 cups)

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups vegetable oil

3 cups finely grated carrots (about 4 large carrots)

1 1/2 cups of flaked coconut

This is how you do it:

Preheat your oven to 350 Fahrenheit/175 Celcius

Peel the carrots, shred in your kitchen machine and set aside.

In a bowl combine the cinnamon, soda, salt, and sift the flour.

In a separate bowl, combine the eggs with the sugar, mixing well.

Add the oil.

Now slowly add the dry ingredients.

When thoroughly mixed, fold the carrots and coconut flakes under.

Pour into a rectangular, greased baking dish and bake at 350F for about 40 minutes.

Frost with a cream cheese frosting or simply sprinkle with powdered sugar.

For Easter, I like to tint a bit of shredded coconut green.

Place the coconut in a ziplock bag and add a few drops of green food coloring and shake until all is mixed.

Top off with sprinkles or whatever you prefer. I used edible pink and white pearls because I think they look a bit like Easter eggs.

ENJOY!

Recent Posts

© 2016 Aela Badiana Productions, all rights reserved

bottom of page